Contemporary, debut, Review, Sierra Abrams, Tear-Jerker, Uncategorized

The Color Project | Review

Title: The Color Project

Author: Sierra Abrams

Find her on: Goodreads , Twitter

Release Date: July 18th, 2017 

Genre(s): YA, Contemporary

Available for Pre-order!: Amazon , Barnes&Noble

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤


SYNOPSIS: 

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her namtcpe. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.


When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.
For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.


 

REVIEW

Blog_divider_number_3

This book gave me so many damn feels. I don’t even know where to start. Sierra has crafted a wonderfully beautiful story of first love, angst, tragedy and humour.

To start, the characters she’s made are perfection. Bee and Levi are the perfect couple. Despite how long it took to FINALLY get some real action between them (Sierra is the queen of the slow-burn people), when it finally happens IT WAS WONDERFUL. The romance between them is so lovely and real and it drew me in immediately. Bee- or Bernice- is a wonderfully awkward character. I identified with her almost immediately, she has so many quirks and real feelings and comes across as such a fantastically developed character. Levi is also a great character. He is so uncharacteristically sweet and caring and philanthropic and literally everything a girl should have. He is literally the epitome of a perfect boyfriend.

Also, (even though he is definitely not a protagonist) I need to take a moment to share my love for the devilishly handsome man that is Keagan. I love him so much and he is such a great ‘big brother’ character to Bee. Oh, and let’s not forget about Gretchen! I love that little nugget. She makes me so happy because she is literally me. Her and Bee’s relationship was so special and I really loved that Sierra included a long distance friendship because I think it is something that is very underrated in literature. Ah! And Suzie! Suzie gives me life. She is so funny and literally the mom everyone wishes they had.

Of course, there is also the wonderfully handsome side character known as Keagan– but hopefully one day he’ll have his own blog post 😉
In terms of plot and writing, Sierra is well beyond her years. This book was perfectly written. The pacing and plot were both perfect and drew me in almost instantly. I loved how the book progressed ( even though I was loosing my mind at times because, feelings), and found that it created the perfect atmosphere for a reader to fall in love. The writing is this book was absolutely brilliant. Namely, the dialogue of TCP really pushes it ahead of many contemporary novels. The dialogue was so natural and perfect and so easy to read. It was really refreshing and kept my attention throughout the entire duration of the novel. Dialogue can make or break a book and in this case, it definitely helps make it into a masterpiece.

I am completely enthralled by this story and will literally buy every edition of it possible. Bee and Levi’s story is one for the books and I sincerely think that it is going to be one of the best contemporary books of the year.

I strongly encourage you to pre-order this book as. soon. as. possible. You will not regret it! 

Until next time my loves:

Happy Reading,

-Destiny

 

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “The Color Project | Review”

  1. I am absolutely obsessed with the typography of this cover, it’s absolutely gorgeous ❤ Thanks for getting me excited about this novel, will be keeping an eye on it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s