New Adult, Review, Suspense/Thriller

The Chemist | Review

Title: The Chemist

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Genre: New Adult, Suspense, Thriller

Date of Release: November 8th, 2016

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ .5

Purchase: Amazon  , Indigo , BarnesandNoble  , BookDepository


Synopsis:

THE-CHEMIST-jacketShe used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.Now, she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.


 

Review

Blog_divider_number_3

To preface,  I want to say that this review is based solely on my personal opinion. I recognize that others have had different reading experiences with this novel, and I respect that. So I would appreciate it if you would respect mine 🙂

 I absolutely love Meyer’s other adult novel, The Host. It was so refreshing and different from the Twilight franchise– in such a good way! (I highly recommend reading the host if you haven’t already, also watch the movie for some  prime eye candy )

I had high hopes for The Chemist and for the most part it succeeded! (Which is always a blessing in itself.) 

The Chemist, unlike any other book I’ve read- especially lately- featured a protagonist who was not inherently good. She was not a damsel in distress, or an impoverished teen making hard choices to survive. She was a scientist and worst of all, she was a torturer. Throughout the novel, Meyer, of course, tries to play this down by making her protagonist grow and begin to use her skills for good so that she becomes more likable to us.

 Regardless of where she is now, and how she now uses her skills, it is important to remember that she has tortured and killed people. For this reason alone I was completely enthralled by this novel. This was super unique and interesting. I loved seeing a darker side to a female protagonist. Juliana- or Alex- is a very complex and well-created character. Her past, her turmoil, and her reservations were all very believable. 

In terms of the romance in this book I thought it was very secondary to the rest of the plot. Of course, there are times when it comes to fruition and is necessary to certain aspects of the plot. But primarily this novel is about survival.

SPOILERS BELOW!

If you do not wish to be spoiled for this novel, please click off this review right. now.

Do it.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

After agreeing to one last case, Alex kidnaps and tortures Daniel Beach in order to elicit answers from him about a potential terrorist attack. She is interrupted, however, by the twin brother who was supposed to be dead and was – of course- the brother she should have actually been torturing.

Kevin ( the twin brother) it turns out though is no worse than Alex, and was also just an agent doing his job. Alex teams up with the brothers to try and take down a corrupt military operation led by some of her old bosses. 

I will admit that the romance between Alex and Daniel doesn’t feel completely natural- she did torture him after all.  However, because of the way in which Meyer created the characters this romance does work. Personally, I was totally game for Alex and Kevin to be a thing but that’s just me. 

#team Aevin all the way!!!! 

I think my absolute favorite part of this novel was towards the end when Daniel is shot and Alex thinks that he is dead on the spot. He has been hit with the perfect kill shot yet, by some miracle, he is still alive. Until Alex remembers that Daniel and Kevin are mirror – image twins which means that  Daniel’s heart wasn’t on the normal side of his chest!  This was just such a unique and beautifully written component of the novel and I absolutely loved it and squealed a little when I realized what was happening. 

Overall I really loved this book. It gave me everything I was expecting and more. While I recognize that there were some issues with this book and it did have flaws, I can’t deny that I was completely enthralled the entire time and could not put it down.

 There were so many great small scenes and overarching plots that just made the novel super fun and interesting to read.  I feel that the novel wrapped up well so I don’t think that there will be a sequel, however, I would not be opposed to one as I’d love to see what life is like for Alex now that she doesn’t necessarily need to be on the run… or does she?!? That’s all that I want to know! So Stephanie Meyer, if by some grace of god you are reading this right now, GO WRITE THE SEQUEL! K? K.

‘Til next time, my friends!

Happy Reading,

-Destiny

Leave a comment