Ally Carter, JK Rowling, Julie Kagawa, Kelley Armstrong, Lindsay Cummings, LJ Smith, Middle Grade (MG), Richelle Mead, Sarah J Maas, Suzanne Collins, Top 10, Uncategorized, Young Adult (YA)

Top 10 Book Series

I’ve read a lot of books in my life and probably 90% of them are part of a series. I very rarely read standalone novels, not that I don’t like them but I just find it hard to find them. Series are popular regardless of genre, however, I would argue that contemporary novels are the most likely to be a stand alone (and, as you will learn throughout the course of uploads on this site, I very rarely read contemporary novels– except of course, for The Color Project by Sierra Abrams, of which I am obsessed)

I’m addicted to series. It’s really that simple. I love long, long books and long, long series of books. I basically just love when I have thousands of pages dedicated to one set of characters overcoming various obstacles. I like to get attached to my characters and watch them go through absolute hell. Thus, series are the perfect home for me.

Now, as I said above, I have read a lot of series. Like, a lot, a lot. But, luckily for me, there are some that really stick out in my brain as my all-time favorites. So, let’s take a gander* through them, shall we?

*Sierra, if you are reading this post…. yes, I used the phrase “take a gander” just for you. I still don’t know why it was so funny 🙂 )

TOP TEN BOOK  SERIES 

Blog_divider_number_3

 

blueombre copy

The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

capture1

Buy: Amazon , Indigo , BookDepository 

I really enjoyed this series when it first came out. I loved the first couple books, but the last few just sort of dragged on. Don’t get me wrong I was obsessed with Clary and Jace and all things Shadowhunters, but I’ve kind of outgrown it. (Side Note: If you watch the Netflix show, let me know your thoughts! I watched season one but I literally have zero motivation to watch the second season :/ )

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤

blueombre 10

Dark Visions by L.J. Smith

6780439

The Strange Power -The Possessed -The Passion

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

I’m not sure if these three books were ever actually published as three separate novels rather than just in one big book, but I’m still going to include it as a series! I absolutely love this series by L.J. Smith. Kaitlyn was such a spunky, fun character and of course, the love triangle made it so much more fun. I haven’t re-read this series in a couple years, but I definitely recommend it if you are looking for a fun, dark and twisty romantic fantasy series!

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ .5

blueombre 7 copy

The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

kelley armstrong.png

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

YAAAAAS. That’s literally all I can say about this series! I read this series years ago, probably when I was first in high school….so I don’t remember exactly what they are about, or even really why I liked them…but I do know that I LOVED the series when I did read them initially. This is a definite want-to-re-read-situation! I’ll make sure to post a review once I have re-read them. Have you read this series? Did you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments!

Series Rating: Well, tbd.

blueombre 10 copy 2

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

hunger_games_trilogy

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

Do I even have to explain this one? The Hunger Games series definitely holds a dear place in my heart- I actually took a course in my freshman year of university on The Hunger Games and it was the best things ever. Plus like, star-crossed lovers, epic battle scenes, angsty romance…what more do you want?

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ .5

* The series rating drops to just a 3.5/5 because of Mockingjay, that book does not exist to me.

blueombre 10 copy 3

Blood of Eden Series by Julie Kagawa

Series Recap (Blood of Eden)

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository 

ALL OF THE LOVE TO THIS SERIES.

This is the second  third series that read by Julie Kagawa and I absolutely freaking love it. Allie is such a kickass protagonist and I honestly love the arc that her character goes through throughout the three books. Also, she has some prime love interests whom I absolutely adore and ugh, *swoons* I love this series so damn much. If you haven’t read this series or anything by Kagawa for that matter… WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE? Go lick on the purchase links, you will not regret it. *Scouts honour**

*even though I’m Canadian so I was a Girl Guide but whatever, it’s irrelevant.

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

blueombre 10 copy 4

The Murder Complex Duology by Lindsay Cummings

201-e1447475010617

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository 

If you follow me on any of my social media accounts then you really should have known that this was coming. I am obsessed with Lindsay’s works and I absolutely LOVED this duology. There is also a companion novella, but I haven’t had the chance to read it yet! This series was so intriguing and expertly crafted. I was addicted from the first page, and I personally enjoyed the The Death Code even more than The Murder Complex! Highly recommend this series!

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

blueombre 10 copy 5

A Court of Wings and Ruin Series by Sarah J. Maas

The_ACOTAR_series.png

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

UMMMMMM, RHYSAND. ❤

THAT IS ALL.

Seriously, I absolutely freaking LOVE this series. Maas’ creates wonderfully vibrant and intricate worlds that I just want to continue to devour.

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

blueombre 10 copy 6

Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter

carter-book-collage

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository 

Probably. One. Of. My. All-Time. Favourite. Series. Ever.

I am OB-FREAKING-SESSED with the Gallgher Girls series. Cammie Morgan is EVERYTHING that I desire in a protagonist and her journey over the series honestly is one of my all-time favourite character arcs/progressions. Not only is the writing super cool, but HELLO, the book is about spies! Specifically, how kick assingly awesome GIRL SPIES are.

Also, Zach. *swoooooooooooons*  Zachary Goode will forever be one of my top book boyfriends.

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

blueombre 10 copy 7

Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

HARRY POTTER.png

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

Alright, so I just want to take a moment to express how difficult it was to put this wonderful, magical, amazing series… as number two on this list. However, after a lot of thought I realized that another series has dethroned it as my alltime favourite. Honestly, I’m not even going to explain why I love Harry Potter because it’s probably the same reason you do.

Series Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

And Finally,

my number one series

is

..

blueombre 10 copy 8

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

vampire-academy.jpg

Buy: Amazon, Indigo, BookDepository

Words honestly cannot explain my deep, profound love for this series. Of all the books I ever read when I was younger —including Harry Potter-  Vampire Academy (a.k.a book #1) is the only one that I remember the day I started reading it. I was in Grade. 8 and one of my friends had had it in her desk for weeks and never opened it. Being the curious reader that I am, one day I asked her what it was and she explained that she had bought it but for whatever reason couldn’t get into it…..so she gave it to me. AND I FREAKING DEVOURED THAT SUCKER.

And the next one.

and the one after that.

Rose Hathaway is probably the best female protagonist I have ever read about (sorry, Cammie). All of the characters in Vampire Academy are so well crafted and their journey’s throughout the six books are all so meaningful and well-crafted. I honestly love this series with my entire heart and I am definitely 100% Team Adrian (although I do like his story in the spin-off series as well).

VAMPIRE ACADEMY ALL THE WAY.

Btw, the movie does not exist in my mind. We do not speak of that atrocity here.

Blog_divider_number_3

That concludes my Top 10 Book Series list! I hope that you enjoyed it and hopefully found some of your favourite on here as well. Let me know your thoughts in the comments, or you can tweet me @fablesandfae , I would love to talk to you about any of the above series (especially, Vampire Academy & Gallagher Girls haha)

Happy Readiny,

-Destiny

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Book Series”

Leave a Reply

