Author Interview, debut, Indie Author, New Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

TWISTED FATE SYNOPSIS REVEAL & AUTHOR INTERVIEW | DEBUT AUTHOR, JESSI ELLIOTT

Good Morning, lovelies!

Welcome back to fablesandfae ❤ 

I am so happy that you are tuning in today because this is by far my favourite post on this blog thus far! I had the pleasure of chatting with debut author, Jessi Elliott and had the chance to ask her a bunch of random questions.

Today also marks the SYNOPSIS REVEAL for Jessi’s upcoming novel, TWISTED FATE! and guess what?! I GET TO SHARE IT WITH YOU! RIGHT HERE, RIGHT NOW! *WOOHOO*

unnamed

Title: Twisted Fate (Twisted #1)

Author: Jessi Elliott

Genre: Urban Fantasy (New Adult)

Release Date: TBA

SYNOPSIS

Being kidnapped by the Leader of the Fae really puts a dent in your senior year.

Aurora Marshall is sharp, witty, and always has a plan. Ready to finish her business degree and graduate, her life is going smoothly—until the night she meets Tristan Westbrook.

Tristan, the overbearing, gorgeous Fae Leader, and an admired businessman in the human world, is all kinds of dangerous. While he finds Aurora intriguing, her refusal to bend to his will keeps them locked in a constant power struggle.

Entering into a deal is the only way to escape Tristan’s clutches, which only plunges Aurora deeper into the fae world. With her future at stake, she is forced to handle his arrogance and extraordinary fae abilities as she fights to stay grounded in her mundane life.

Not to mention her struggle to ignore the growing attraction she knows she shouldn’t feel for the man who kidnapped her.

When people said college would be the most exciting time of her life, Aurora never thought this is what they meant.

ADD TWISTED FATE ON GOODREADS HERE!

 

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR

Placeholder Image

Q1. What are a few of your favourite books/series? Did they impact your writing at all? 

Jessi: Okay, Yes! The LUX series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Have you read that? She’s literally my favourite and I think I definitely pull a lot of inspiration for the style of her writing I guess, I don’t know. It was like the first book series that I read that made me want to be a writer. So that’s definitely one of them. Wendy Higgins, the Sweet Trilogy, that was one of the first YA Paranormal series that I read, so that would probably be one of them. Now a lot of people don’t like the Hush, Hush books by Becca Fitzpatrick but that was one of my favourites when I started reading. I probably wouldn’t like it as much reading it now, but back then when I started it was definitely a book that made me want to be a writer.

Q2. When did you start writing? And how has it shaped you as a person?

Jessi: I started writing in….. between 2009 and 2010. Back when I was back in elementary school. I think it helped me to just decide what I didn’t want to do with my life. Cause, in elementary school you’re not really thinking too much about what you are going to do with the rest of your life, that more in High School but….oh I have to think about that. I think it made me connect with a lot of people that I wouldn’t have if I wasn’t a writer. Because even the reading community is a bit different than the writing community in terms of online stuff. There’s a lot of people that I never would have met if I didn’t start writing. So that’s probably how it’s changed my life the most, in that, I’ve made a lot of friends. And I think those relationships make me a happier person.

Q3. Do you remember the first thing you ever wrote? 

Jessi: I….mhmm…poetry was never my thing, even in the creative writing classes I took. Hmm, Yeah [laughs] Oh it’s so embarrassing! So, my first novel was a young adult (probably) vampire story and it was [laughs] about a girl and two vampires who were cousins, and she falls in love with both of them. So, like it’s literally the Vampire Diaries. [laughs] Needless to say that book will never see the light of day! It was never in my mind when I started writing that anyone else was ever going to see it that came later on. But, yeah. Sometimes I open it just to see how far I’ve come, but it’s cringe worthy for sure.

Q4. Tell me about your WIP? What inspired it? How long have you been writing it?

Jessi: My current WIP right now, I’m editing it for the 3rd time, it’s called Twisted Fate. It’s a New Adult Urban-Fantasy and it’s definitely romance. It is about a girl named Aurora who is in her senior year of college and she has everything planned out, she knows what she is going to do for the next…. foreseeable future. She has a plan and it’s going well until she goes to a party one night with her friends and is kidnapped, by who we later learn is the leader of the fae. She wasn’t meant to be kidnapped but because she was her whole world is thrown for a loop and she has to decide “what am I going to do, how am I going to live now knowing this stuff, do I really believe it?” She’s very doubtful of it until her—-oh, I can’t say that, that’s a spoiler [laughs] nevermind! She just has to live with this new information and it affects her life in so many different ways. She has to go back and edit her own life plan and she really struggles with that cause she’s one of those people who needs to control everything in her life. There’s romance, there’s betrayal, there’s a lot of sadness and fun, there’s just a lot of everything. And I hope that any college age student can connect to some part of Aurora’s life because at the end of the day she’s just a student who is trying to finish school and get a job and start a life for herself.

Umm, I was never a fan of fantasy, like I don’t really read it that often. I think the first fantasy series I ever read was A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas and I wasn’t too sure about it. But the fae seemed like a creature that in popular literature haven’t been explored that much, so I wanted to explore it and see what it could be. I wanted to make it different, obviously, then the popular books that are out now. And if you think about it, they aren’t like many other fae. I don’t know of any fae that feed off of emotions like my guys do! [Editor’s Note: I love this little quirk about her characters! So unique and creative!] I see my fae as a cross between a vampire and a succubus cause they don’t feed on blood, but they feed on emotion and energy and they still have the mind control and charm and are still really perfect (in a really annoying way). The inspiration came from wanting to explore a genre that I never particularly liked and never thought that I was going to go into. I never imagined that this would be my debut novel, but I just fell in love with the book and the characters, and that’s just how it happened.

Q5. What’s the last writing related thing in your search history? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever researched for a WIP?

Jessi: Ummm…..I gotta check. Oh, I’m scared! [laughs] it won’t be bad. I didn’t do a lot of research since it’s focused on the ‘urban’ aspect of fantasy like they don’t go to a fae world or anything so I didn’t have to research that. Okay, so the only thing I really have is that I was researching medical things…but that’s all I can say 😉

Jessi: Okay, ummm.. oh this is awkward! But I’m going to tell it because it’s funny. It wasn’t like online research or anything but before I wrote a very…intimate scene I read through some of my favourite intimate scenes to see how graphic they were. So I tabbed some books and read through some sex scenes before I wrote the one for Twisted Fate. *spoiler alert 😉 * 

Q6. Do you have an elevator pitch for Twisted Fate?

Jessi: Uhhh, I did but I don’t know if I like it anymore. Let me think about this before I open my mouth. Okay, so Aurora is thrown into a world that she doesn’t understand and is now forced to comprehend. [nervous laugh] It’s something I’m working on!

Q7. Walk me through what a writing day looks like for you.

Jessi: Umm, so I’ve been out of school for like a month now so I’ve basically just been writing. I would probably wake up around noon and go through my emails, go through beta-feedback and make any necessary changes. I was making changes on a physical copy but now I’m working on the changes right in the document itself. Eat here and there, maybe. Take a break, read a book. I do a lot of writing at night because I just think it’s the best time when the world is asleep and quiet and I can just turn on some music, have a glass of wine or hot chocolate and then crawl into bed at 2 or 3 in the morning and watch some Friends. 

 

Q8. If you could place Aurora in any fairy-tale for a day which would it be and why? 

Jessi: I want to say Peter Pan because it’s my favourite fairy tale. Beauty and the Beast would be one because like Belle she would be able to put the Beast into place like she constantly has to do with Tristan. Honestly, I’m not a very big fairy tale person, but Peter Pan I think works really well. Like she already has to get to know a whole new world so Neverland would be a piece of cake. Tinkerbell and Skylar would be kind of similar and she’s already used to the bitchy personality so it would work.

Q9. If Aurora was part of the Friends universe who would she be? Who would she be friends with? 

Jessi: I think she’s the most like Monica because Monica is such a control freak and has so many rules, and I think she’d be good friends with– not Ross, no one likes Ross [Editor’s Note: *Cough* I love Ross– but like Phoebe, because she’s so unique. The really controlling person and the really laid-back person together as friends would just be really cool and unique.

Q10. Do you have any advice for writers who are considering self-publishing?

Jessi: DO. YOUR. FREAKING. RESEARCH. Oh my god, there is so much that you need to know before even considering it and also probably try to win the lottery because it’s fuc*ing expensive! Get the best editor you can find and definitely hire a really good cover designer! There’s so many little things that need to be done so long story short, make sure you do your research!

Life Motto’s

  • If it’s still on your mind it’s worth taking the risk.
  • If it’s important to you, you’ll find a way; If not, you’ll find an excuse.

 

Blog_divider_number_3

ABOUT THE AUTHORunnamed

Jessi Elliott is a newly graduated law clerk and debut author of both young adult and new adult romantic fiction. Her love of writing was born after many years of reading and reviewing books on her blog.

She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her family and two adorable cats.

When she’s not plotting her next writing project, she likes to spend her time hanging with friends and family, getting lost in a steamy romance novel, watching Friends, and drinking coffee.

You can find Jessi at jessielliott.com, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to stay up to date on book news and upcoming releases.

Blog_divider_number_3

*wipes sweat from brow* sheesh, that was a

sheesh, that was a looooong post! I hope you all enjoyed it! Stay tuned for more details concerning Twisted Fate! Be sure to follow Jessi on all of her social media platforms and help support her book!

‘Til next time my darlings,

much love,

-Destiny

1 thought on “TWISTED FATE SYNOPSIS REVEAL & AUTHOR INTERVIEW | DEBUT AUTHOR, JESSI ELLIOTT”

Leave a Reply

