Contemporary, guestpost, LGBTQ+

TAKE THEM BY STORM: SADIES JOURNEY |GUEST POST BY MARIE LANDRY

Hello my beautiful readers and welcome to fablesandfae! I hope you are having a magical Thursday thus far 🙂

Marie Landry, author of Take Them by Storm, is with us today for a guest post!

*yay, throws confetti into the air*

GUEST POST BY MARIE LANDRY

Blog_divider_number_3
TAKE THEM BY STORM: SADIE’S JOURNEY

When I started writing Waiting for the Storm five years ago, I had no idea it would become the first in a companion series. Charlotte’s story came to me in huge chunks, fueled by grief and anxiety. I poured my heart and soul into her story, and it was one of the most cathartic experiences I’ve ever had. By the time I finished writing Waiting for the Storm, Charlotte’s sister Ella, was whispering in my ear that she needed her own story. She’d been misguided in WFTS, making Charlotte miserable and making a mess of her life, and she thought (as fictional characters do!) she deserved a chance to redeem herself. I agreed, and After the Storm began taking shape.

 

When I started writing Ella’s story, it was the secondary characters who kept leaping out at me: River, Ella’s love interest, and Sadie, Ella’s new friend at school. Sadie came to me in technicolour, stealing every scene she was in, and quickly winning my heart. I can’t remember at what point I realized it, but it hit me with perfect clarity: Sadie was gay. She was mostly in the closet, partly because of her horrible parents, partly because of the fact she lived on a small island and had gone to school with the same people since Kindergarten (people who tended to be small-minded), and partly because of a few bad experiences early on in high school. When she came out to Ella, bits and pieces of her future revealed themselves to me, and like Ella, I knew Sadie would get her own story, too.

 

I have to admit, I was terrified to write Sadie’s story. I didn’t know how people would react to a f/f story, and I was worried about the questions it might raise about my own identity. I was (and still am) selectively out online and in real life; I like to keep my personal life mostly personal. But I knew Sadie’s story needed to be told, for so many reasons. Ever since my late teens, I’ve been searching for f/f fiction and discovering how rare those books are. Even the ones I found up until the time I wrote Take Them by Storm were lacking in one way or another. The thing many of them had in common was that they were so depressing. Where were the happy gay people? Where were the people who were out and proud? Where were the happy endings? I decided to write the type of story I’d been so desperate to read: an out lesbian, going about her life, having friends, dating, figuring out her place in the world, and above all, being happy.
The romance in Take Them by Storm isn’t necessarily conventional, but I think it’s realistic. First love isn’t always sunshine and rainbows – it can be messy and painful. Take Them by Storm is as much a coming-of-age novel as it is a romance, and I’m proud of Sadie’s journey – the mistakes she made, the things she learned, her growth as a person. It’s a story about friendship and family and love in its many forms. And it does have a happily ever after. Sadie finds the kind of love she deserves, even though it takes her a while. I hope other people will appreciate her journey and either see themselves in Sadie or see it’s possible to be like Sadie. To be happy, to find acceptance, and to be loved.
Blog_divider_number_3
ABOUT HER BOOK
unnamed (2).jpg

PURCHASE LINKS:

SYNOPSIS:
Sadie Fitzgerald has always been different, and not just because she makes her own clothes and would rather stay home watching Doctor Who than party with kids her age. When it’s time to leave Angel Island for college, Sadie is eager to put her old life behind her. Small-minded people and rumors have plagued her for years, but with the love of her adoptive family, the O’Dells, Sadie has learned to embrace who she is. Now she’s not afraid to admit the rumors about her are true: she’s gay.unnamed.png
For the first time in her life, Sadie feels free to be herself. She dives into college life and begins volunteering at the local LGBT center, where she discovers her small-town upbringing left holes in her education about life outside Angel Island.
The world is a bigger and more accepting place than Sadie ever imagined. She’s finally found where she belongs, but with the reappearance of someone from her past, an unexpected new friendship, and a chance at love, Sadie soon realizes she still has a lot to learn about life, friendship, and love.
ABOUT MARIE
unnamed
Marie has the best job in the world—one where she gets to make stuff up for a living and shamelessly eavesdrop on everyone around her. She writes happily ever afters while dreaming about the day she’ll have her own epic love story to tell. Most days you can find her writing, reading, fantasizing about traveling the world, listening to U2, watching copious amounts of TV on DVD, or posting on Instagram.

For more on Marie and her books please visit http://sweetmarie-83.blogspot.ca. She also loves to chat with fellow book lovers, so feel free to tweet her @SweetMarie83 anytime!

Placeholder Image
Thanks for stopping by fablesandfae!
A big thank you to Jess Sankiewicz-Tate for organizing this post and Marie Landry for agreeing to it! You both are welcome anytime!
As always, if you have any suggestions or ideas for future posts let me know in the comments down below or tweet me @fablesandfae
‘Til next time, my loves,
-Destiny
Leave a Reply

