Fantasy, Review, Young Adult (YA)

Lady Midnight ( The Dark Artifices #1) | Review

Hello, my friends!

Welcome back to fablesandfae ❤

In the past week, I have read Lady Midnight and the sequel, Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare and I absolutely loved them!

 

synopsis

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.
parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.

 

review

It was so nice and refreshing to be back in the world of The Mortal Instruments. Lady Midnight completely caught my attention from the very first page. Although it was in the same world as TMI, it definitely had a very different feel to it, which I loved. 

First, I want to talk about Kit because I was totally blindsided by his character! I really don’t understand why she used his POV in the prologue, but maybe his character will become more developed and important in the 3rd novel (I know his character does come into Lord of Shadows a fair bit more). For the sake of just reviewing Lady Midnight though, it was definitely odd.

Okay, but can we talk about the kids in this book because I absolutely loved them, especially Ty! I loved the autistic representation that was brought into LM, but more than that I love how subtly Clare infuses the autistic tendencies throughout the novel. No one comes out directly and labels Ty’s disorder (Spoiler: It is revealed that Ty has autism in LoS) but to anyone who is familiar with the symptoms, it is definitely obvious that he sits somewhere on the spectrum. Also, Livvy/Livia was so precious and I love the twin bond that is present between her and Ty.

Okay, but seriously can we talk about the relationship with Emma & Julian– because hot damn. I absolutely love the forbidden relationship that buds between them throughout the duration of the novel, and I am seriously team #Jemma?.It is definitely a slow burning romance, but when it finally happens….. y’all gonna need to throw a bucket of ice water over your head or something.

Also, can we just take a minute to appreciate how good of a guy Julian is?! Like he deadass became a man when he was 12 and continues to be an amazing presence in his siblings lives. His character is so wonderful to read and I am so happy that he is finding happiness with Emma. (Also Emma is a complete and total badass and I love her.)

I really loved the pacing of this novel, it moved at a good pace and kept my interest the entire time. I loved being back in the swing of things with shadowhunters and overall I think it was a great first book to the series. I can’t wait to review Lord of Shadows!

rating

2000px-Light_blue_star.svg2000px-Light_blue_star.svg2000px-Light_blue_star.svg2000px-Light_blue_star.svg2000px-Light_blue_star.svg

 

 

Stay tuned for my Lord of Shadows review! 🙂

Thanks for tuning in!

Lots of love,

Destiny

4 thoughts on “Lady Midnight ( The Dark Artifices #1) | Review”

  1. Lady Midnight was sooooo good. I do agree that starting the series off from an unknown character’s perspective (Kit) really though me off too. But I’ve grown to really like Kit’s character (I’ve read LoS). If you think about it though, she did the same thing in CoHF, starting with Emma’s perspective so it’s not totally out of her writing style to just throw in new perspectives at the beginning of a book. I’m looking forward to reading your LoS review 😁 Also, team #Jemma!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I loves both of the Dark Artifices! Kit is such an interesting narrative, but the opening did throw me off. I’m glad he showed up more in LoS and hope to read more about him in the 3rd installment
    I think Ty is one of my favorite characters ever. I actually love how Clare has written him. He’s just perfect.
    And Julian and Emma are just so much, I feel like my heart is going to burst for them. So many feels! I just want them to get their happy ending 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Dark Artifices is turning out to be a fantastic series. I love Ty and I love that Clare has incorporated autism into it. I love that everyone around him is so great with some of the things he does. Especially Julian.
    Julian and Emma are just gorgeous. Clare writes fantastic romances. I can not wait to find out what’s going to happen to them next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

